THE COUNT

No, I’m not talking about the adorable count on Sesame Street. (Vne, Two, Thrrrree! Bwa-ha-ha-ha!) Not even talking about Count Dracula.

I’m talking about your manuscript’s word count. (Thanks, Linda, for the chat and the blog idea. I needed it!)

This isn’t one of those blogs where I’ve got the answer and I’m going to, finally, magnanimously share it. This is honest-to-goodness-I-really-really-want-to-know.

Serious question: How do you get your word count to climb?

For some of us, it just ain’t that easy.

Don’t misunderstand. I’ve taken classes on it. I don’t remember much about the first one I took. I don’t remember the teacher’s name or the class name. I do remember the main thrust.

First, you write for a week and see what you average. The next week you add so many to your daily word count. I don’t remember exactly how many. Maybe twenty-five words? Fifty?

Say you test yourself and find you write 200 words a day. For the next week, you push yourself and make it 250. The week after, 300. The result is, after several weeks you should be writing 1000 words a day in the same amount of time it took you to write 200.

I could do it, but what I wrote was a little stinky (!) because I was thinking about the numbers more than what I was putting on the paper. And that’s just dumb. Might as well draw a target on my foot and pull the trigger.

Then not so long ago, I took a class given at Rose’s Colored Glasses called WRITE 50 BOOKS IN A YEAR.

Now Rose is giving it as a free week-long class this summer. Check it out HERE.

The workshop includes–

  1. What do you want? (Good question.)
  2. What’s stopping you?
  3. Prewriting planning.
  4. Cranking out the pages.
  5. Tools for goal setting and planning.

In case you’re wondering, YES, I signed up for the class again–unless they kick me out for flunking last time. 😉 And for sharing the free class thing. 🙂

Do you recognize any of your write too slow problems? #2 and #3 look good to me.

I’m horrible at getting people to comment on blogs, but just this once (please?) SHARE WITH US. (I promise we won’t think you’re bragging or hate you for being prolific.)

  • How do you keep life from getting in the way? 
  • How do you work through the rough patches?
  • How do you keep the sirens from luring you onto the rocks?
  • How do you write so many words in a day?

Whether you can’t (or won’t) answer any of those, how about answering this one–HOW MANY WORDS DO YOU AVERAGE A DAY? Let us (me!) know how many I can shoot for. 🙂 And so I can touch you on the head. ( And maybe get some of it to rub off on me.)

7 thoughts on “THE COUNT

  1. I wish I had the answer, but I tend to write in bursts and spurts. I do do better if I write at the same time each day. Something I hope to start doing again when I finally retire. (Did I mention 46 work days & counting?)

  2. Um, have I mentioned lately that I’m doing more cutting than adding? Which means I’m probably not the best person to comment. That said, when I first started writing I could sit and crank out 6-10 pages at a whack. Course, that was before I knew what I was doing and everything I wrote was pretty much garbage. *s*

    To answer some of your questions, I can’t keep life from interferring, I do get lured to the rocks on a regular basis, and to keep my word count up, just try to be my ole’ gabby self. 😉

    I know this doesn’t help you much. Each of us are so different in our approach that it’s hard for one person to tell another the best solution. Sometimes we have to tell ourselves we will not get out of the chair, will keep fingers on keyboard and working on our WIP, no matter what! Scold yourself if you have to, but you have to hold yourself accountable. (I’m looking in a mirror as I write this.) Good luck!

  3. My average word count depends on where I am in the process. I usually shoot for 1000 words a day when starting a book, then 2000 a day after that. There’s no secret to it for me; I have to make myself sit down and get started. It may take me several tries through the day — break for lunch, break for nap, break for dinner — but I try to hit that target every day, unless I’m just too pooped to continue.

    I totally agree with the adding part. I’ve found that if I want to really move ahead, I can add 100 words to my count each day and keep increasing until I hit about 3000. I think that’s usually my wall.

Leave a Reply

