Summer Lovin’!

Sorry but no, this won’t be about some summer fling or anything of the sort. With that out of the way(and having dodged glares from my boyfriend) This is actually about how I spend my summer. I have been knee deep in music this past week. Music is my muse afterall. One of the best ways that music inspires me is when I watch musicals. Now, for those of you who have met me, that has to be one of the funniest images ever. The quirky babe in the vintage and goth clothing with all the studded bracelets and stuff, watching musicals? No, It gets better than that. I actually perform them. Its a little known fact, but I didn’t always sing rock or the blues. Mom will vouch, they started me out with Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, Some Like it Hot, Chicago, Cabaret etc. One of my favorites, that always gets me in the mood to write for some strange reason is Grease. Though I always pegged myself as more of Frenchy than Sandy or Rizzo, I feel inspired by each unique(if stereotypical) character.

If the rocker chick can admit she loves musicals, so can you guys, so lets hear it: What is your favorite musical? Which ones make you want to write?

 

XOXO

2 thoughts on “Summer Lovin’!

  1. Oh, man . . . I should preface with I’m not a movie person. About the only musicals that come to mind are Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Holiday Inn and Jesus Christ Superstar. In fact, I haven’t seen any of the ones you mentioned.

    Music does inspire me to write — all music: rock, country, jazz, blues, zydeco, etc. Just without movies in the background.

  2. I love The Unsinkable Molly Brown! Makes me want to dance and sing and punch someone. (I really hate that next door neighbor lady.)
    Phantom of the Opera is the one that inspires me to write, though. Oh! My! Stars!!! That is one musical that makes my head swim with “what ifs” and my heart take off like a rocket to Juniper.
    It’s good stuff. 🙂

Leave a Reply

