Magic Carpet Ride

So . . . does anyone else feel as if a computer is a little like getting on a magic carpet? Anything you want to learn, see, or try is right there on the screen in front of you. Of course, that’s not always a good thing, but I’m going to ignore the bad. (If I don’t, I’ll have to get out my pulpit, and I’m not licensed to preach.)

Right now, I’m talking about Facebook. It’s one of those always-changing mediums that just gets better and better.

For most people, it’s a way to stay in touch with friends and family who live next door or around the world. The day-to-day, “hey, I got a raise!” kind of thing. I don’t want to know your entire day, but I love knowing that someone has a new granddaughter and someone else changed jobs or went on a vacation or sold a book.

Life is too short (and too fantastic!) to keep all to ourselves. 🙂

Facebook is also a way to meet people I never would have known. I have fantastic friends on FB who I wouldn’t have known any other way. One was an accidental, God-guided “friending”. I thought she was someone else. 🙂 But our faith and relationship with God is so alike, we just clicked!

And then there are those people we’d love to know. Those are usually the ones we “LIKE” instead of friending. They don’t have to “accept” us, we just follow them.

I found one man who is an author I started reading years ago–Frank Peretti. I loved reading his books about spiritual warfare. I was astounded!

Now I can go to his Facebook page, and read more about him. Things he posts from his heart. He calls it White Haired Wisdom (WHW).

I posted one in Small Town World today.

Authors such as Susan Elizabeth Phillips take you with them on their travels around the world while you’re sitting in your house, at your computer.

To be honest, most authors join Facebook and hope to sell books. The most successful at it don’t say, “buy my book. BUY MY BOOK.” Instead, they let you become a part of their lives.

They seem like natural, ordinary people you might meet next door in your own town instead of shining, out-of-touch stars who ride in limos, only wear formal clothes and drink from stemmed glasses.

Of course, when my friend has a book come out, I’m thrilled for them. I’ve lived the journey with them. And, naturally, I want to get the book ASAP.

After a day on Facebook, visiting friends and making new ones, going around the world, learning new things and finding where to go, I really feel as if I’ve been on a magic carpet ride. 🙂

What’s your favorite thing to do on Facebook? (Please don’t say play games.)

Anyone new you’ve found that I would enjoy friending?

9 thoughts on “Magic Carpet Ride

  1. Facebook is like the party lines we had in the 40’s & 50’s, coffee shop, barber shop, beauty salon, grocery store, the old CB Radios–BUT we don’t have to get dressed, comb our hair, put makeup on, all from our own little comfort zone, wherever you want that to be.

  2. I don’t play games on FB…too time consuming. But I do like FB to keep up with my friends, see what’s going on in their worlds, let them know I’m out here without spending a lot of time. How did the days get to be so short when it took ‘forever’ to get through a day when I was a kid? LOL

  3. My favorite thing to do on Facebook? Um . . . well . . . er . . .

    I spend most of my time there checking up on the kids, the nieces and nephew. That’s about all I can manage there.

Leave a Reply

