Going Back to the Well

Recently I was diagnosed with a sleep disorder which has caused a number of minor health problems. The problem is that not sleeping has sucked the energy and creative muse right out of me. And for someone who considers the Engerizer Bunny to be a slacker, for someone who is the ultimate overachiever, struggling to just get through the day is frustrating to say the least. And the worst part is…I’m not writing.

There I’ve confessed it. My secret is out.

I’m not afraid that I will never write again. I know this is just a temporary blip. Nevertheless, when I compare myself to Ms. Peggy Fielding who didn’t let a little thing like a stroke slow her down, I feel a bit of inner turmoil.  At first I felt lazy not writing. I tried to force myself…but the words just didn’t come. I fell asleep at the computer.

So I decided if I couldn’t summon the energy or muse to write, I’d go back to the well and fill it up. I’d read, read, read, and read some more. Assuming I could stay awake, of course. Reading refills my writer’s soul. When I read a story that sweeps me away I remember why I write. I want to send my readers away too.  I’ve rediscovered old loves like Poe, devoured works by my faves like Marilyn Pappano and Kathleen Eagle, and re-read an Inconvenient Corpse by Jackie King, and Blind Sight by Susan Shay.

I know I will write again. Until this drought ends, I’m filling the well with wonderful stories.

7 thoughts on “Going Back to the Well

  1. Thank you for the mention, Lynn! Blind Sight and I appreciate it!
    BTW: If you haven’t read “Cowboy”, it’s kinda good, too. 😉
    As much as you do every day–in and out, up and down, back and for, around and around–I’m surprised you can get out of bed in the morning. I wouldn’t be able to!
    You’ll be pouring out the words soon. A talent like yours can’t be denied. In the mean time, you might do a few other things besides reading.
    Visit a museum, go to the beach, check out a second hand store.
    Go places you don’t normally go. Pretty soon, you’ll find your mind playing the “what if” game.
    “What if the woman in that picture tapped me on the shoulder so she could tell me how she was killed.”
    “What if a naked woman walked out of the sea onto this beach and had no memory except one when she broke a man’s neck with her bare hands.”
    “What if I tried on this jacket and slipped into someone else’s personality at the same time?”
    A little down time can be fun!

  2. Thanks for the blog, Lynn. You have no idea how much this has inspired me to suck it up and climb over a hurdle I’m facing tonight.

  3. Thanks for the mention, Lynn! Reading someone else’s stuff always inspires me to work on my own. I do a lot of non-reading refilling, too. Little odd things you normally don’t do, something creative in another way — painting, gardening, needlework, meditation, etc. I like to sit outside with my eyes closed, listen to the wind chimes and see how close I can come to thinking absolutely nothing. It clears my mind so there’s room for all those characters again.

    • That’s a great suggestion, Marilyn. I’ve got a swing on the front porch and 10 kittens to watch romp around. Think I’ll spend some time on the front porch.

Leave a Reply

