No Coasting Allowed

Last week I attended a workshop at West Texas A&M University. It’s a Writers Academy and the class I took was Screenwriting Structure for Novelists by Alexandra Sokoloff. I’ve been a pantser in the past but have figured out I need a bit more ‘structure’ in my writing. Alex’s techniques have filled in the gaps for me.

This class was exactly what I needed for my next story. I had a general idea of what I wanted to do in it (can you say extremely vague?), but didn’t even know where the story would end. That’s highly unusual for me. Now I can say I know not just where the story will begin (NOT where I’d originally thought, btw), but also where it’ll end. And boy is it a dynamite ending! 😉

Did I mention I made some fantastic new friends? The members of the class were great. They helped work out plot points for everyone else’s stories, along with Alex. I have to give a big kudos’s to her. She managed to pull minute details out of all of us, no matter where we were in the story or in our writing careers.

By Friday afternoon I was totally brain dead. LOL That’s okay, though, because I’ve got tons of notes and the basic outline of the sequel to Grave Secrets. Yah!

Thanks a lot, Alex! Couldn’t have done it without you. I REALLY appreciate your work…and patience with me. You made me step up to the plate and I feel so much better for it.

Linda Trout

4 thoughts on “No Coasting Allowed

  1. It was certainly different from what I’d seen before. Similar, but different. I’ll try to bring some info to our next get together.

Leave a Reply

