Where Do You Get Yours?

One of the oddest questions I’ve been getting since I started writing is, “Where do you get your ideas?” Getting ideas is the easy part.

The hard part is finishing the book I’m on when the new one comes knocking.

Anybody stepping in that with me? 😛

When I get near THE END in a manuscript, I start wondering what my next one will be. This time, though, I asked God what he wants my next one to be. And, of course, He gave me a doozy. (Don’t we all think that about our next ones?)

In the past, I have one of those, “I wonder what would happen if . . . ” questions hit me for my ideas. “I wonder what would happen if a woman stopped for gas on her way to work, and just disappeared.” Or, “What would happen if the doorbell rang and it was the million dollar man?” My characters usually come along with the what ifs.

But this time, the heroine came to me first. I lived with her rattling around in my head, whispering to me about her background and family for a while. I expected the hero to show up soon, but noooo.  Several days later, the setting came to me. Loved it! Great idea, and right on the setting’s heels, the heroine’s friends came to visit. Friends? FRIENDS? Where’s the hero???

As a romance writer, a story without a hero can be a problem.

What to do? I prayed. And one day, like a V-8 smack with a sledge hammer, the hero showed. (Sucking in a deep breath.)

He’s an alpha male. I’ve NEVER written an alpha. Never liked dealing with alpha males. I’m not sure I can write one.

To be very honest, he scares me. 😉 (I’m going to need a lot of help from my friends.)

The weird part is, this book is the first in a series. A series? ME???

At least I won’t get bored. 🙂 When someone asks me where I got my idea, I’ll just tell them God gave it to me. I could never have come up with it on my own.

Where do you get yours?

7 thoughts on “Where Do You Get Yours?

  1. I usually get my ideas from asking myself questions… What if’s or others, if I’m looking for a plot point. If I get a new idea in the middle of a draft, I try to see if I can incorporate it into the current story, which usually makes the plot richer. 😀

  2. I find ideas everywhere. Some of them I can write right away. Some have to simmer a long time (I honestly never thought I’d write PASSION after it took so long to ge the plot worked out). Some never get written.

    Thank God they never stop coming!

  3. I get a lot of ideas from music lyrics. Often I try to imagine what inspired the songwriter to pen the song an then that triggers a story idea.

    • Funny you mention that, Lynn. I don’t usually get story ideas, but I learned a lot by listening to songs such as scene descriptions.
      Sounds weird, but in a song it has to be short and meaningful to get in. With tight-writing these days, the same thing holds true.
      Garth even had a song that encouraged me to keep going, when people around me weren’t exactly cheering me on.
      Sounds like my next blog topic. 🙂

    • I’ve gotten ideas from songs, too. “The Lights of Albuquerque” inspired both story and title for THE LIGHTS OF HOME. “Elizabeth” was the inspiration for THE GREATEST GIFT, and I couldn’t have finished PASSION without frequent listenings of “You Took the Words Right Out of My Mouth.”

Leave a Reply

