Thank You, God, For Garth Brooks

Do What You Gotta Do

Do What You Gotta Do

Even though Garth is from Oklahoma, and went to college in Stillwater (which isn’t too far from C-Town) he doesn’t know me from Adam’s off ox. But God, and Mr. Brooks, have given me a lot of encouragement, and today I’m going to share it with you.

In 1991, my mom died suddenly. Now my mom was one of those women who saw what she wanted to do and went after it. Sew a dress? Bam! Here it is. Build a rose garden? Whack! There you go. Open a dress shop? Wham-o! You’re welcome.

She told me once she loved getting up in the morning when she had a project going. It gave her day zing.

At her unexpected death, even she had things she hadn’t done. Travel, for one thing. Books she planned to read (although she did read a ton.)

At her passing, I had an epiphany. Now is all I have. Not tomorrow. Not even later today. Now’s the time.

I was going to finally do (yep, I know I split that infinitive, but if Star Trek can do it . . . ) what I’d dreamed of doing all my life.

Write.

Before my “all I have is NOW” awaking, when something I was doing proved to be a problem time wise for the others in my family, I’ve given my thing up. Sororities, clubs, teaching Sunday School, manage the dress shop, and on and on and on. When pressures arose, I stopped.

After all, that’s what a good wife and mom does. Right? (Sound familiar?)

But I couldn’t give up writing. I wouldn’t give up writing. In my soul, I knew it was what I was meant to do. I had too many stories inside me. God had given me those stories for a reason.

So I started writing. Not doing a good job, but trying at least. I met another writer in Pryor Creek and she gave me some help, but not what I needed.

But God stepped in again. (Yep, it was a God thing.) He sent a wonderful mentor and a few fantastic critique partners who helped me find my dream.

I. Could. Not. Quit.

No matter who wanted me to. No matter how much of a struggle it was.

And one day, I heard this song. I’m not sure Garth Brooks knew people (like me) needed to hear, but God knew. And just when I needed to hear it, He sent it. Wow.

It became my marching song. No matter how hard it was, I could listen to this and it helped. No matter how bad the rejection or how awful I’d done on the day’s pages.

I must have listened to the song a million times. Now I’m sharing it with you.

No matter who supports you or who doesn’t. Who doesn’t think you can make it. Who wants you to stop your thing and go their way remember, YOU GOTTA–

DO WHAT YOU GOTTA DO!

(Thanks, Garth!)

Song Lyrics

Sometimes you`ve got to take the heat If your gonna` walk down on the mean street Take the heat and you see it through Cause sometimes it comes down to Do what you gotta do

Sometimes it goes right down to the wire And you might have to walk through the fire Walk on, boy, all the way through Sometimes it comes down to Do what you gotta do

Well there`s people that`ll tell you It`s just no use And there`s people that`ll tell you That you`re gonna` lose People tha`ll tell you Anything you`re gonna` listen to Do what you gotta do

Someday they`re going to call your name They`ll come looking for someone to blame What`s your name boy Hey you just tell them true Cause they can`t take the truth from you So do what you gotta` do

Well they`ll call you a hero or a traitor But you`ll find out that sooner or later Nobody in this world is gonna` do it for you Do what you gotta do

There ain`t no body in this world That`s gonna` do it for you Do what you gotta do

Watch the video–

http://youtu.be/IWvZPrQpmKE

Related articles