A Black Confession

As writers we’re often asked where our stories come from. Where do we get the ideas for our tales? And the answer is, anywhere and everywhere. Here’s an example of what I mean. It’s a little embarrassing, but it’s a great illustration–the seed of a story can come from the strangest places.

I wrote a short story called Black Lace, published in my anthology Scary Mondays Volume One. It’s about a widower who’s dead wife is taking possession of him. I got the idea from a song by Soundgarden. Now I’m hearing impaired, so the words I heard Chris Cornell singing was, “I put on black lace.”  That conjured in my head the image of a man dressing as his late wife at her direction. Her ghost tells him to wear her favorite black dress and put on make-up just as she did, all so she can live again inside him.

The funny thing is, being hearing impaired, I heard the words of the song incorrectly. Cornell wasn’t singing “I put on black lace.”  The lyrics are “I fell on black days.”

Black Lace is one of my favorite short stories and it’s one inspired because I heard the wrong words to a song.

And that’s where stories come from!

4 thoughts on “A Black Confession

  1. LOL, Lynn. Don’t know the song, but like the story a lot!

    Sometimes I’ll get words wrong and it’s so hard to replace them in my head with the right ones! I can’t say anything creative’s ever come out of it, but you never know.

  2. Marilyn:

    The funny thing now is that when I hear I Fell on Black Days, I still hear the wrong words. Someday I’m going to work up the never to let Chris Cornell know he inspired a horror story. 🙂

  3. I love this story and especially the way it came about. I’m always using the wrong word in a sentence (DH politely corrects me), so I can see how this could happen.

    As always, your stories are creepy, creepy. That’s why I like them so much. 🙂

Leave a Reply

