Pardon Me

Years ago I was talking with a man who’d helped with some research on one of my books, and he very politely said, “I don’t you don’t mind my saying this, but I think romance novels are trash.”

I blinked, taken aback, then asked, “Have you ever read one?”

“No,” he admitted.

Very politely I replied, “Then I hope you don’t mind my saying this, but I think that’s an incredibly ignorant comment.”

He thought about a moment and said, “You’re right. It is.”

That exchange came to mind a few days ago when I was cruising Kindle looking for new books. I came across a title by an author I was familiar with, a woman who’s been in the writing biz a lotta years and who’s fairly well respected in her genre of inspirational romance.

What made me stop and look was the fact that were nearly a hundred reader reviews, and they averaged two out of five stars. Ouch!

Out of curiosity, I began reading them and came across something odd: complaint after complaint about the faith, the religion, the Bible and the God stuff in the book.

Um, excuse me. You bought — deliberately paid for and downloaded — a book labeled as an inspirational romance, published by Steeple Hill/Love Inspired, and you’re ticked off by the fact that there’s God stuff in there?!?

I bet when you go to a restaurant and order eggs and ham, you’re surprised to find those round white things with yellow middles on your plate, aren’t you?

Pardon me, folks, but your ignorance is showing.

8 thoughts on “Pardon Me

  1. That is weird. To complain about faith being in an inspirational, then giving the book bad reviews because of it? Good grief! That’s unfair to the author.

    • Isn’t it? And it ticks me off more because, unless you take time to scan the comments (which I rarely do on my Kindle), all you see is dozens of one-star reviews. How many people were put off from buying that book because of the reviews, not knowing that the one thing the readers were complaining about was the very thing the book required for being published in that genre?

  2. Gah. People can be so stupid. (Sorry, but people like that don’t deserve to be called ignorant. They’re stupid.)
    I’m surprised they didn’t demand their money back.
    I say we line them all up for a Stooges smack!

  3. Marilyn, I read this and laughted out loud. Being put off by references to God Stuff in an inspirational romance is like buying an erotica romance, then getting outraged by all the graphic sex. DUH!

Leave a Reply

