The Muse is Missing

We have all those moments, right?  When the muse packs up and goes on vacation! Well my muse went somewhere this week; lord knows where and left me to struggle to come up with something to blog about. I agonized over topics trying to find something funny, clever, or sentimental to write about.   Then I picked up a little motivational book called The Check Book, 200 Ways to Balance Your Life, by Bret Nicholaus and Paul Lowrie.

One of the suggestions in the book really caught my attention: Reread a favorite book from childhood.

The first books that came to my mind were the Nancy Drew mysteries I read as a kid.  It’s not an overstatement to say that I owned the entire series of girl detective stories written by Carolyn Keene.  And even though it was such a disappointment to learn that they were all ghost written by various authors, I owe the fictitious Carolyn Keene a huge debt because I discovered the joy of reading thanks falling in love with Nancy Drew.

I think as an author that would be the highest form of praise, to know that your books inspired the love of reading generation after generation.

7 thoughts on “The Muse is Missing

  1. I HATE it when the silly muse doesn’t cooperate! Especially when you’re on a deadline. Grrr Or it decides to come out and play at the worst possible time, like while you’re at work or in church. Sure would be nice if we could just flip a switch, wouldn’t it? 😉

  2. Okay, sweet pea, you track that muse down and beat it into submission because I want to see some pages from you! Next time, no sushi for you if you don’t have pages for me. 🙂

    • Well this week, the muse came back with a vengeance. Only now I’ve got three stories banging around in my head. Urgh!

Leave a Reply

