Patience

I love ghosts stories–no secret there. The problem is over the last few years there have been very few of them written. In paranormal romance, ghosts stories have been practically non-existent. The sub-genre has been full of demons, werewolves, shapeshifters, and of course vampires. Even the Horror genre has been rife with the same old, same old–werewolves, vampires, and zombies. Oh my!

Ah, but on a recent trip to Barnes and Nobles, I was delighted to see ghosts stories. Not in the Horror section or in paranormal romance. But in the mystery section. Yes, ghosts are making a come back. I’ve got my fingers crossed that soon we’ll seem flitting about in romance and horror again. 

Most new writers are advised don’t write for the market. Write what you would want to read. I’ve got a plethora (always wanted to use that word) of ghost stories written. So maybe now, my time has come. 

Time will tell if patience is truly a virtue. 

6 thoughts on “Patience

  1. I fully agree…your time has come! And you’re ready, willing and able to supply the material. Your market is just sitting there waiting on you. 🙂

  2. I like ghost stories, too. I’ve done two — Copper Lake Secrets and Copper Lake Confidential. The ghost action is minimal in the second one, but since it’s the same families involved, I thought it seemed appropriate to bring in a ghost in the second.

    Start polishing and submitting those babies!

  3. I love ghost stories. Love to get scared and start wondering if I might be haunted.
    (I’ve always thought ghosts, being people, would haunt those they loved or hated as well as places.)
    Looking forward to your books! Like Marilyn said, start polishing and submit, submit, submit!

Leave a Reply

