The Importance of Promotion

Everyone knows I’ve been promoting my new release, but I wonder if I should have been doing more. And a lot sooner. I didn’t seriously start promoting the book until its release day and from what I’ve seen on TWRP author loop, a lot of people start getting the word out much earlier. They do blog tours for up to 2 weeks before the release date, they send the book out to reviewers not on TWRP reviewer distribution list, they have A LOT of give-a-ways, do blog hops (where there are several other authors involved), and the list goes on.

I feel like I’ve been doing pretty well locally. After all, I’ve talked about my writing for years wherever I go. All my doctor’s offices, the dentist, chiropractor, etc. But once all of these folks have bought the book, then what? Who will I sell it to then?

I guess my question is, what should I have done differently? I think this question is pretty relevant as I think there are several others in our group that are on the cusp of selling. This info can prove helpful to them, too. Or they may already know how to promote their book much better than I’ve done.

Using the internet is a given. You can set up Events on Facebook and invite everyone that you think can make it there. Like signings. Why invite someone who lives hundreds of miles away when you know they won’t drive all that distance? But then again, you never know. One gentleman and his wife drove 225 miles to come to my first signing and I didn’t even know him. We were both from the same small town, but that’s it. I was SO amazed that he’d do that.

I really don’t want all of these posts to be self-serving, but like I said earlier, others can benefit.

My question is: if you’re close to publishing, do you have a ‘Battle Plan’ in place to promote/sell your book? Where did you get your advice or idea, and are you willing to share?

Inquiring minds want to know.

Speaking of promotion, here’s the bottom line from The Romance Studio review, which gave me a 5 Heart rating.

“Overall, this author has done an exceptional job of penning this novel, of which I want to read again and again because it showed that no mother should give up hope of finding their child alive after they’ve been abducted.”

Is that cool or what? {big stupid grin}

If you want to check out my book, here’s a link: The Wild Rose Press

2 thoughts on “The Importance of Promotion

  1. Back in the day when I was a literary publicist, we began at least 4 months before pub date getting ARCs and review copies sent out to major reviewers. By 6 weeks prior, we were setting up interviews and building buzz online. The last 30 days before the big release, we scheduled a blog tour and did an all-out media blitz to get the word out about the book. This is especially important when the book can be pre-ordered.

  2. Good advice, Kathleen. A HERO TO COME TO will be the first book that I’ve seriously worked to promote, so it’s nice to hear that.

    On contests, Linda, as much as possible, give away stuff that can be done electronically — e-books, gift certificates, etc. Mailing can get expensive.

    One other thing to go with the blogging, signings, social media: get another book out there as quickly as possible. Be ready for the readers who finish the first one and say, “Wow, great book. What else has she written?”

Leave a Reply

