AND YET ANOTHER REASON TO HAVE A SYNOPSIS

Every writer reading this is flinching. Most writers HATE “synopsis” more than genital herpes. Yet writing a synopsis is crucial for writers. Even if you’re a “pantser” type of writer, you have to write some kind of synopsis to sell on proposal.

Then, there is the plotter type of writer. We HAVE to have a synopsis. I write a long one to work from, a short one to use for submission and contests, and an even shorter one for pitching and bios. But I recently discovered a new use for a synopsis, one that didn’t exist until ebooks.

When authors post their books to online book sellers, they write what is called a “book description”. These can vary a lot. Some describe the story while others state what you should be feeling as you read the book. Some have positive reviews if they are putting up their backlist or if the new title was sent to reviewers prior to release. But, whatever the author writes, it is a big selling tool for the book.

You all know I download a lot of books, most of them either by authors I know or to replace paperbacks in my library. But I also take chance on authors I have either never heard of or never read. What helps me make my choices?

To start with is the length. If it’s too short, I can’t get a good idea of the story and if too long, I figure the author is too wordy. If the grammar, punctuation, or spelling is bad (and I don’t mean a couple of typos), I’m not buying the book.

Hate that synopsis if you must, but learn to accept it for all times. The synopsis is our friend!

5 thoughts on “AND YET ANOTHER REASON TO HAVE A SYNOPSIS

Leave a Reply

