Nano Ninnimo?

The other day, Lynn said she was doing NaNoWriMo this year. (National Novel Writing Month) All I can say is, WAY TO GO, LYNN! (And everyone else going for it.) You’re a real trooper and I know you’ll succeed!

I nano-ed one year. It was great! All you have to do is write 1667 words a day. No going back and rereading. No editing. No outlining. Just write, write, write.

I know people who do that just as a matter of course. Not me, but the big boys do it.

When I Nano-ed, I wanted to be finished before Thanksgiving, so I wrote almost 2100 words a day. Sometimes more. I was making it. I had a fair story. I trucked.

And then I cratered about 2/3 of the way through.

Do I regret it? No way. I got lots written (that I’ll probably never use) and more, I learned a lot about myself as a writer. About why I write what I write.

Will I Nano Ninnimo (anymore)? To be honest, I don’t know. I might. Right now, I’m trying to finish a 50,000 word manuscript in three to four months–research, edits and all.

Someday, though, I’d like to try pounding out a first draft without edits and the rest.  Then I’d go back to fill it in with the research, outline, timeline, continuity, characterization, spelling, etc.

Who knows? That might be the perfect way to make the work sing. 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Nano Ninnimo?

  1. I’ve never done NaNoWriMo, but was very tempted this year. I’m proud of Lynn for going for it, and for you trying it previously, Susan. I think I can actually hear keyboards all across the world clacking away as I write this. 🙂

    • It’s too bad we need a national effort to Nano, isn’t it? One of these days (the manuscript after this one) I might try it on my own. We’ll see.
      The Manuscript AFter This One. Sounds like that movie, The Day After Tomorrow, doesn’t it? LOL. I hope it’s not as scary.

Leave a Reply

