The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

Thank you, Marilyn Pappano, for tagging me for The Next Big Thing Blog Hop. I think.

The Next Big Thing blog hop poses a series of questions to writers about their current WIP. Since Marilyn–author, critique partner, Mentor extraordinaire, darn nice woman–likes my upcoming TWRP book, MAKE ME HOWL, that’s the one I’ll be talking about.
What is the working title of your book?
MAKE ME HOWL.
Where did the idea of the book come from?
I’d just read a light paranormal, and thought, “That’s so much fun! I want to write something just like that, but different.” So I did.
What genre does your book fall under?
Light-ish Paranormal. (I tend to make up my own genres. Got a problem with that?)
Which actor would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
Sorry. Not my job. I write ’em, you turn them into movies.
Actually, I have no idea. My characters are real to me, and it’s hard to find someone I’d like to play them.

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

Ugh. I didn’t know this was going to be work. 😦

Because she was born with an active werewolf gene, when Jazzy Cannis meets Chase Holliday, she believes she can take a bite out of life and move on, until she learns two things: werewolves mate for life, and Chase Holliday plans to wipe werewolves from the face of the earth.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
The book will be published by The Wild Rose Press.
How long did it take you to finish the first draft of your project?
About nine months or so. I think. 🙂
What other books would you compare this story to in your genre?
Wow. This is hard.
Well, it’s a little humorous and a little paranormal. Who writes like that?
Who or what inspired you to write this story?
My inner snark. (That’s what I call the voice in my head with the sharp comebacks. I TRY to keep under control.)
I figured if I wrote a modern-day, got life by the tail woman who had a biting sense of humor and a killer sense of style, I could let Ms. Snark have free reign.
So I did.
What else about your book may pique readers’ interest?
In Jazzy’s world, werewolves are either born that way and learn to control the “gift” by the time they’re three, or they’re bitten and are like rabid dogs during the full moon.
While being born a werewolf is somewhat of a curse, it has its good points, too. For instance, werewolves are almost always successful in business. The higher up a werewolf is on the royal bloodline, the more successful they are.
So now that I’ve answered the questions, I’m supposed to tag some other authors to find out what’s THE NEXT BIG THING they’re working on.
4 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

Leave a Reply

