The Becauses

Is it still the new year or did this one roll back to the old one again?

I don’t know if it happens to anyone else or not, but it seems I start each year out gang-busters. Resolutions out the wazoo. Golden Goals. Great ideas. A burst of energy like my hair’s on fire.

That energy lasts about a day-and-a-half. Two, sometimes. Years I’m really determined, my hair might smolder for all of two weeks. Then?

Pfffffft. Like a tire with a nail in it, my resolutions slowly deflate. My Golden Goals lose their glimmer and become so much w-o-r-k.

In other words, I’ve rolled back to the previous year.

Some days when I get out of bed, I want to make a bonfire out of them and dance. Some days I just stare at them and wonder, “What possessed me to write THAT?” Of course, other days I think, “Yeah, I can do that.”

Having gone through this for more years than I’m ready to talk about here, I’ve learned how to handle it. A little.

First, I get my husband to hide all the matches in the house for the first couple of months of the year. (I can always toss them in the fireplace if I get the yen real bad.) When I do go on a match-hunt, I try to remember WHY I set those goals.

The Becauses.

I have a life goal. What’s a life goal? It’s a goal that I’ve never wanted to burn, that goes with me from day to day, month to month, year to year. Something I’ve wanted most of my life.

Life Goal–

TO WRITE BOOKS THAT TOUCH AND INSPIRE OTHERS.

So one of my this year goals is–FIND A PLOTTING SYSTEM THAT WORKS FOR ME–

The Because. “In order to TOUCH & INSPIRE, I have to get through my books sagging middles, and to do that I must learn a better way to plot.

Now I just have to figure an organized, logical way to do it. (Organized and logical, I’m not! Thus, the struggle.)

So how about it? Are you bonfire building or are your goals and resolutions still going strong? Do you remember The Becauses?

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Becauses

  1. My goals stay strong; it’s my actions that get sluggish. And the colder and more dreary the day, the more likely I am to stay curled up in my chair and veg-out.

  2. I don’t have a ‘because’, but, so far, I’m pretty well staying on track for my goals. Well, kinda. My problem is I always think I can do something faster than I actually can. Mainly write. Grrr

    So I guess my goal would be: NOT JUST WRITE, BUT WRITE FASTER.

Leave a Reply

