Oh, So Pinteresting!

Do you Pinterest? If you’re a writers, you really should. 😉

I know all the reasons not to–it’s a big time suck. (Yep!) It’s just one more thing I have to do. (Yep, yep.) I don’t have time. (Ain’t that the truth?) Why bother when I have so many other things that keep me busy?

BECAUSE IT’S SO MUCH FUN!!!

Okay, my mama told me life isn’t just about having fun, but why not have fun when you can? Here’s the deal. The ‘Net is full of all these wonderful blogs and super ideas, and we can never see them all. Right?

When you Pinterest, it’s like everyone went out looking at the things they look at and pinning the things that sparkle for them. Many times, they sparkle for me, too, but I wouldn’t have seen them.

Via Pinterest, I can go to them and see that sparkle, too. IT’S SO COOL! And it’s not just seeing things that sparkle, it’s craft ideas, vacation ideas, how-tos, recipes, and on and on and on.

For anybody who hasn’t been Pinterested in the past, you create boards and Pin things to them. Some of my boards are: DESTINATION GET THERE (those are places I want to go) HEART ART (heart shaped things. I need one that’s stars, but haven’t gone there, yet.) KNITTING GOODIES, PHOTOGRAPHY, FAVORITE PLACES AND SPACES (that’s stuff for my house and yard.) I have several other boards, too. 🙂

I follow lots of people’s boards I’ve never met, and lots of people’s boards I have. Want to know something funny? You can tell a lot about a person by what they pin.

One woman I follow is probably a fantastic cook, because more than half of her boards are for recipes. And she’s probably very organized because she has one for cakes, one for casseroles, one for pies, one for salads.

247557310739160849_u3YGd1fM_b

Another woman I follow has kids at the marrying age and kids who are having grandbabies for her, because she’s pinning tons of things for both.

258323728595772370_LW7Kgld7_b

And you can learn a lot about your friends. I follow one friend from college who loves gardening, loves gifting, enjoys being organized and adores her family and home. What I like best is that her sense of humor is as fantastic now as it was all those years ago. (Maybe even better.)

152066924888003690_d7Ox3yZe_bYou’ll know when your friends have new interests.

118993615124197906_XW9GtTAy_bBelieve me, it’s obvious!

286611963756605152_cbf0Vnwt_b

So why should a writer join Pinterest? You get to see a side of people they might normally try to keep hidden. If all their boards are, “Gimme” boards (I want this diamond, I want that expensive car, I want that ginormous house) they might be a tad self-centered or selfish.

If they have things scattered all over and the same board with different names in several places (like me. Oy!) they might be a little disorganized.

If you Pinterest (or even if you don’t) check it out. See what you can tell about the people you know by their boards. 🙂

If you Pinterest, share your favorite boards with us. Let us see what we can tell about you. 😉

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Oh, So Pinteresting!

  1. I know a lot of writers are on Pinterest, but I’ve never gotten into it. I have too many time sucks as it is. That’s one of the reasons I don’t have Solitaire on my computer anymore. 😉

  2. I’m signed up on Pinterest, but haven’t got around to figuring out how to work it. Another thing my reading binge is interrupting. *Sigh*

Leave a Reply

