Vanishing Act

No, I’m not lost or leaving. Nor do I plan to. What’s vanishing are all of my “brilliant” ideas for a blog. *sigh* It’s rather strange how Susan blogged about this only days ago when I’d already come up with this idea for today’s blog. Great minds think alike, I suppose. Hmm. We could have ESP. OR we’re both just weird? 😉

Some people find it relatively easy to blog about different subjects/topics on a regular basis. I applaud them! And truth be told, envy them. Me? I figure my everyday life is pretty mundane so you’d be bored spitless reading about it. Hence, my absence.

In a nutshell, I’ve been hauling wood to the house to feed the stove to keep warm. (Last week.) Yesterday, I found as much to do outdoors as I could, enjoying the 70 degree weather. I had my teeth cleaned, ate lunch with a couple of dear writing friends, and later, walked the dogs. See? Boring. Oh, yeah. I’ve been working on edits, too. (Major activity there!)

I’ve been contemplating the effectiveness of blogging in the whole scheme of the social media thing. What does and does not work for a writer and why. Twitter, Pinterest, Facebook, Blogging. There are other ‘new’ avenues popping up all the time that a person can pursue. But where do you draw the line? When do you get any writing done? You can social media all of your time away. (Personally, facebook is a BIG time-suck for me.)

Is there a solution? Short of having your own personal publicist doing all the social media thing, I doubt it. Since I can’t afford one, I reckon I’m stuck between a rock and a hard place.

Hidden out of sight.

Vanishing….

7 thoughts on “Vanishing Act

  1. That’s what happened to me yesterday. I flat couldn’t think of a writing topic that hasn’t been covered in all the time we’ve had this blog going. And unless you wanted to hear about my day doing my dad’s laundry, there wasn’t anything going on in my life interesting enough to blog about.

    • I can SO relate! Sometimes I come up with these ‘great’ ideas, then either forget to write them down at the time, or just run out of steam on my day to post and the next thing I know, it’s 11pm. Grrrr

  2. I started blogging in May 2008, and I’ve posted 805 blogs. The one thing I learned is to be yourself. If you like to blog, then blog. If you have to force yourself to blog, then it’s painful for everyone, including readers. I decided a long time ago that there are better writers than me giving writerly advice, so I stopped doing it. I’ve expanded my blog to include food, candy making and my crocheting. I blog because I like to blog. This week my topics included Zombie Apocalypse, Vacation Sweepstakes, and Weighty Wednesday–Sliding back into Bad Habits. I’ll probably post something tomorrow and Friday, but I’ll figure that out when I wake up.

  3. Isn’t it interesting how we think our lives are so boring, yet when we break down and blog about one of those boring events, others love it. What’s ‘normal’ for us is unusual – and therefore entertaining – to others. Go figure. Guess I should keep that in mind when writing my blogs, huh? 🙂

  4. I’m right there with you Linda, trying to determine where best to spend my precious writing time. I wish I had some tarot cards that could predict what works best.

Leave a Reply

