Mardi Gras 2013 and Birthdays

It’s Mardi Gras and time to PAR-TY!!

Do you have your beads ready to throw? Or catch as the case may be. I have a slew of them that I’ve collected over the years plus a couple of nice masks. (Psst. I’ll show you mine if you’ll show me yours. LOL)

DSCN0639_673

For years I worked in the oil & gas industry. Every year we knew we wouldn’t be getting any info out of the people from Louisiana because everyone was out celebrating. Don’t blame them. If I lived down there, I’m be doing the same thing. 😉

So tell me, do you have any big plans for Mardi Gras? Parties to attend at either work or afterward? Or are you a big fuddy-duddy-sitting this one out?

Also, today would’ve been the 126th birthday of my favorite great-uncle, Clarence Harris. He was a hum-dinger.In his later years, he’d go down to the senior citizens center every day for lunch with ‘those old people.’ Even though he was the oldest one there, he’d liven the place up the minute he walked in the room with his laughter and smiling face. That’s one of the things I liked the most about him…his laughter.

He lived to celebrate his 100th birthday before he decided it was time to go home and be with his beloved wife, Bea. They were sure a couple of characters. Every Sunday afternoon for as long as I could remember, they’d make the rounds of their favorite nieces and nephews homes. If I didn’t have sweets fixed, Aunt Bea would tell me what she wanted. Let me tell you, I’d hustle myself into the kitchen and get it made asap! I didn’t mind. My mamma taught me to respect my elders and I did.

Besides, they had such wonderful stories to tell of coming to Indian Territory in a covered wagon from Arkansas and their lasting marriage. Funny thing is, her family said it would never last, yet they had 72 years together before she passed away. Now that’s true love!

Do you have favorite relatives who you’ll always cherish? I certainly hope so. Aren’t they a blessing?

So enjoy your Mardi Gras celebrations and Happy Birthday Uncle Clarence!

4 thoughts on “Mardi Gras 2013 and Birthdays

    • We stayed home, kept peeking out the windows to watch the snow and DH read while I wrote. All in all, a pretty successful evening in my opinion.

      I bet I would’ve loved your uncles. Mom’s brother was named Charlie and her dad was named Earl. No Richard’s in the family that I know of. We’ll have to compare stories sometime.

  1. Well I’m a fuddy duddy too. With this weather, I’m hunkered down, warm and dry. And I have a long list of characters in my family tree…you could say my family tree is a little bent!

    • Glad you stayed safe last night, Lynn. As for your family tree, I’m almost willing to bet that some of those characters (as least a part of them) wind up in your books. Am I right?

      Btw, I LOVE it that your family tree is a little bent. My kind of family. 🙂

Leave a Reply

