When All Else Fails

I’m running a little late this morning. Well, later than usual. 🙂

Here’s the reason why. I’ve been doing a little blog play. I finally figured out how to put images of my books on the sidebar of my blog. (I’m a slow learner.) Why, you ask, did I suddenly decide I had to get them there?

I listened to a legitimate tutorial about how to use SEO and plugins and keywords and thought, “If all that can be done, I should at least be able to put my books in my sidebar.

My mama used to say, “When all else fails, read the directions.” So I did.

I put it on the left. Check it out: http://susanshay.net

Why it is some people can figure out all kinds of things without directions–how to put together a bicycle, replace a transmission, add pictures to a blog, plot a book from beginning to end–and I need someone to show me how with nearly everything?

 

6 thoughts on “When All Else Fails

      • It’s someone who has to read/see a demostration and have someone talk them through the action at least once before they learn to do it. That’s the way I learn.

        • That’s the way I learn, too. I’m a ‘show-me’ kind of gal. You’d think I’d be from the ‘show-me’ state, Missouri, but I’m not. In fact, I learned to sew by this method. Mom was sick with a bad tooth, I needed some PJ’s for church camp, so she’d get up, show me how to do one thing at a time, then go lay back down. Took a while, but I got those PJ’s made. I was super proud of them, too!

          • That’s so me! I was making a dress for my home project in home ec and kept asking Mom how. She wasn’t a patient teacher (six kids, who had time for patience?) so she snatched it away from me and finished it herself.
            I got an A!

Leave a Reply

