Writers’ Academy 2013

Last month I attended the WTAMU Writers Academy and it was AWESOME! Yes, that’s an overused word, yes, it’s a cliché. But folks, there isn’t any other way of saying how great it was for me.

I have to admit, I didn’t do very well last year. My fault. My head wasn’t in it. This year? Whole different story! I took Alexandra Sokoloff’s class again.

DSCN0665_747

Only this time I was excited about my story idea going in. I didn’t have a lot of the plot, and of course, several things changed before we were done plotting. But that’s why I coughed up good money to go…to find out what worked and what didn’t. I have to tell you, I am SUPER excited about this story! Now all I have to do is get it written.

By the time we were through going through my story on Wednesday and Thursday I didn’t even want to stay for the rest of the class…I wanted to go WRITE! But I didn’t. The whole point of the class was to not only get input from the instructor, but from other class members…a give and take, if you will.

For those of you who know me, you know I’m not much of a plotter. So to be able to walk away after (basically) four days with a complete plot line is practically unthinkable. I did it, though. So did every other person in the class. Alex paid us the biggest compliment when she said every single story was viable and marketable. Woot!!

 

DSCN0655_738

 

Here we all are the last day. Alex is next to me with blond hair. Notice there’s only one guy in our class. Bless his heart, he didn’t turn beat red when we talked about hot flashes, etc. {snort}

DSCN0662_745

This is a wonderful (and forever) friend, Jolene Navarro and her daughter, Storm. Jolene’s 1st book will be out this October through Harlequin Love Inspired. I KNOW it’s great! Storm writes paranormal and has a bit of a different twist on angels and demons. Can’t wait to read the finished product.

I’ve already dived into the writing full speed and making great progress. We’ll see just how fast I can write a complete manuscript. Keep your fingers crossed while I try to type mine off. 🙂

Leave a comment