Fair Weather Writer?

For some Fair Weather is the key.

For some writers Fair Weather is the key.

You know what a Fair Weather Writers are, don’t you? They’re those people who can only write when all circumstances are right.

I honestly don’t know any, (hand in the air) but I’ve read about them. They’re the writers who can only get words on paper when

  • There’s no one else in the house.
  • When the muse knocks three times.
  • During the rain.
  • When the sun’s shining.
  • Only on weekdays.
  • Only on weekends.
  •  Only after the house work’s finished.
  • Or the laundry.
  • When the kids are in bed.
  • With their pets are in their laps.
  • (Name your own poison.)

Okay, I’ll admit it. (Hangs head.) I’m a Fair Weather Writer. (Sorta.) My personal thing is I can only write in the morning, maybe until noon. But when the day starts winding down, so does my brainpower. (That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.) I blame it on my internal clock.

Maybe you aren’t a FWW. You could be an ALL Weather Writer. That’s a writer who can write anytime, day or night–it doesn’t matter who’s around or what’s going on, who’s waiting or what anyone expects.

When they’re on a story, they’re writing.

Louis L’amour said he could write in the middle of Time Square. Just give him a typewriter and stand back.

858

Marilyn Pappano can write all day and all night and start over again. And what she writes works!

A HERO TO COME HOME TO author (and all weather writer) Marilyn Pappano

A HERO TO COME HOME TO author (and all weather writer) Marilyn Pappano

I roomed at a writers’ retreat once with a woman who went directly to her computer and wrote each time we had a break. She was a great influence on me, and I started writing each time she did. And sometimes before she did.

All Weather Writer Jackie Kramer

All Weather Writer Jackie Kramer

Maybe I should just move in with her. 🙂

I’d give my eyeteeth to be an AWW, but I’ve tried. I can do a little in the evening (like now) but mostly, pfft. And what I do write late in the day takes a lot of fixing the next morning. Sigh. (Five fixes so far this morning.)

So . . . how about you? FWW or AWW? Do you know?

2 thoughts on “Fair Weather Writer?

  1. Your honesty is impressive. I think I’m somewhere in between a FWW and an AWW. (As in Awwsome!)

    I contribute on Murderous Musings on BlogSpot, and am now have a continuing (for awhile) set of articles on Searching for Discipline. Stop by if you have time.

    http:www.murderousmusings.blogspot.com

Leave a comment