PROOF IS IN THE PUDDING

Remember all those workshops on promoting your books you’ve attended at chapter meetings or conferences? Remember being taught the value of bookmarks and business cards? What to do at booksignings? How to speak in public and sell yourself as an author to readers?

So did Linda Trout. Yesterday, she and I attended a book festival presented by the Bartlesville Word Weavers writers’ group and the Bartlesville public library. I didn’t sell any books, but the event was fun and I got a chance to see Ms. Trout in action.  And I have to tell you, it brought a tear to my eye.

Her table was attractively arranged with her books prominently displayed. As people walked by, she smiled and talked to them, making sure they had a book mark before they moved on. And she didn’t just relate to the readers present. She visited with other authors, showing an honest interest in their books.

So many times, I can remember being told…or teaching the tools needed by authors to succeed. Not just the talent and skill to write a good story, but how to also promote yourself as an author. And, as they say, Linda’s success was the “proof in the pudding.”

Now, I don’t take credit for that  success. Oh, I like to think I had a small portion along with other people who has helped Linda grow as an author. Most of the credit HAS to go to her because she dug in; she learned, practiced, studied, and persevered. And to watch her going about this signing like the pro she is now, well, I gotta tell you, it brought a tear to my eye.

She did us proud!